Grand Pockets’s Blog

Genealogy, Family, Poetry and Peeves

Aquarius


Okay. My friends got me out last night…this is a Tuesday mind you, and I have to work in the morning. Like in getting up at 4:30 am.
“It is a birthday party,” they say, “for Mike. Ya gotta come.”
Maybe I will, I tell them, thinking to myself, you guys are nuts, how are you gonna get up tomorrow? Its evident that most of the guys are going but I’m still sure I’ll just stay home and 3:30 finally arrives.
When I get home I’m bored, and Renee is working and Sadie is at her Grandma’s, and I have hamburger helper lasagna and Pepsi for dinner. At 6:30 pm I cave in. Okay. I’ll go to Legends (the club they’re at) for one beer and say hi to everyone.
I arrive to cheers and heads up! and Chuck-o! and all the inane things people greet you with they’re drunk enough to become best-friend familiar. The scene was cool: mostly friends from work, not too many collegians, smooth, steel drum-like lounge music, not too loud and a few couples moving together on the dance floor. Legends is the kind of club that has large crowds most of time, too young and too hip for me generally.
Tonight, perhaps because it’s Tuesday, perhaps because everyone is partied out from the weekend, its laid back and atmospherey and I’m feeling comfortable as I sit with the gang and order a LaBatt Blue. We’re laughing and joking around when Jeff introduces me to a girl – not to hook me up because it’s his niece but, I think, he feels I’m old enough and married enough to be harmless and trustworthy.
Cori is very pretty, chic, 20-ish and a live wire. She flirts with all of us, dances one set after another non stop and becomes the life of the party. She knows how to tease the older guys like me, set the younger ones on the edges of their seats watching her every move and, I think, although this is really new and different territory for me, more than a few of the women are appreciating her, too.
So, one beer becomes two, I’m having a good time and decide I can bend my rules a bit and stay til 10. It’s gotten a lot quieter of a sudden when someone asks – “Hey, where did Cori get to?”
Jeff checks everyplace out – restrooms, parking lot, everywhere. No Cori. He is worried. We all start looking. Been about an hour since anyone’s seen her and we’re getting more worried since she left without a word to anyone. Jeff is about to call the cops, this is his niece and he’s saying his sister will kill him dead as a doornail if anything happens to Cori when in through the doors she walks.
She just pats Jeff on the chest and kisses his cheek when he asks where she’s been. “Went for a walk, Uncle Jeff, I’m a big girl you know,” and leaves him fuming as she heads for the dance floor, waggling a finger at Brandon like he’s a bass about to land on her hook or something. He is landed, too, steps right up there. Tomorrow I am going to check that boy for a nose-ring, I swear I am.
Now we are all a group of 4 tables pushed pretty close but still a bit apart, and since I was one of the last to arrive, I’m near the back. Jeff, Mikey and most of my buddies my age are clear at the other end. So who comes up and sits by me when the set is done?
Yep. Cori. She leans over to sip a drink and say, “Uncle Jeff is too much. He’d never understand.”
“Understand, what?” I ask her.
“I gave Tony a booty call a while ago…it was getting so boring here”
“A booty call? You mean your boyfriend”  I’m pretty sure I don’t want to hear this explanation.
“Oh, no, nothing like that. Tony’s just my local fuck.”
I wasn’t sure how to respond. Responding is difficult when half a LaBatt Blue beer has just been spit – by oneself – down one’s shirt.
“Don’t tell Uncle Jeff, okay?”
“Don’t worry.” I sure as  hell ain’t gonna to tell Jeff that! I’m thinking to myself.
She is up and running for the dance floor again just like that, as nonchalant as if she’d told me she went home to do the laundry.
I wiped my shirt off, said goodbye to everyone and feeling old and out of my time, went home.
One thought from an old song kept running through my mind all the way there.

This is the dawn of the aging of Aquarius…
grandpockets1

February 4, 2009 - Posted by | family, humor |

1 Comment »

  1. I was Googling around for William Fleming and found your blog.
    I am descended from him on my mother’s father’s side. Very interesting. See chapter X – WILLIAM FLEMING, SON OF NATHAN FLEMING, part 3. My grandfather was Dennis Ward Fleming (5-2-7-4), born April 5, 1903, married Thelma Grange and lived in Ogden, Utah. Children: (1) Marion Louise; (2) Donna; and (3) John {also 4 Robert}. My mother is Donna. All of Dennis’ children are still alive and living in Utah.

    Comment by Mark Purrington | August 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

