Grand Pockets’s Blog

Genealogy, Family, Poetry and Peeves

Short Poems Are Like Pop-Up Windows


Short poems are like pop-up windows that just appear from nowhere while I’m “surfing” life. Things just hit me and I dash off a quick line or two under my breath. Sometimes I even write them down. This morning it was cold and a fog drifted in off the Missouri River while the moon tried hard to shine through. Then I went cemetery hunting, photographing graves for Find-A-Grave online and I thought how for everything we hold important and do to “raise” ourselves – in the end we’re all the same. Finally, I had lunch and discovered that its almost time for a new pair of jeans.

Equality

The grass is as green and the sod as bedewed

No matter whose bones are providing the food.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

A Bowl Full of Jelly

Isn’t it funny that meat

Or anything else that I eat

Turns up on my belly

In a bowl full of Jelly

That disguises my eyes from my feet.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Missouri Moon

It is called a Missouri Moon,

A butterscotch disc

Melting in the mist of morning

©CharlesElledge2008

grandpockets1

January 13, 2009 - Posted by | Poetry & Art | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. “Sir, I admit your general rule,
    That every poet is a fool.
    But you yourself may serve to show it,
    Every fool is not a poet.”
    (Alexander Pope)
    Dan, http://danmihalache.wordpress.com

    Comment by danmihalache | January 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

