Grand Pockets’s Blog

Genealogy, Family, Poetry and Peeves

Day After Christmas


Day after Christmas and the trees’s coming down

There’s need for the room for the toys we found

when the presents were opened and scattered around.

The kiddies are happy, their parents are shot,

and toting their checkbooks and cryin’ a lot.

From my son in the desert to my son in New York

The whole family’s stuffed with turkey and pork.

Later we’ll argue and plead for the lack

of receipts that we need to take presents back.

©CLE2008

Finally, it’s over. As much as I love the season and the culmination of the planning, budgeting, shopping, card sending, phone calling and traveling that is Christmas Day, I have to admit it’s a bit of a relief when it’s over. I’ll recharge within a few days, though and be ready for next year’s celebration.  Mandi, my daughter,  got a ring for Christmas! Seeing as how its the first boyfriend she’s had that I actually like I was pretty pleased. Niece Ezzie is riding her new bike around the dining room and up the hall threatening to upend anyone foolish enough to wander into her path. So what are a few dents in the walls compared to her laughter? My son Jay called from Arizona, my daughters Aimee and Mandi and their families showed up and somehow when they all left I had 2 granddaughters left over. They are 11. When they are together life is a gale of giggles, a storm of screeches. Ever notice how 2 children don’t double the trouble? They square the possibilities for mayhem. I think their mothers left them on purpose.

grandpockets1

December 26, 2008 - Posted by | Christmas, family, humor | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

